Skip to content ↓

Animal Care

BTEC Level 1/Level 2 First Award in Animal Care

Animal husbandry is a wide and varied field of work, leading to experience ranging from the health needs of animals to the everyday meeting of their welfare needs. The BTEC  Animal care course is recognised and respected by employers, professional institutions and higher education establishments. A qualification in Animal Care can lead to many further education options, from academic A-levels to Level 3 qualifications. Career options are wide-ranging, including veterinary care, zoological collections, animal welfare charities, retail work, and agriculture. 

  • Students are entered for the Edexcel BTEC Level 1 / Level 2 Tech Award in Animal Care. This is equivalent to 1 GCSE
  • It is a Level 2 qualification; however, it is graded at Level 2 Pass, Level 2 Merit, Level 2 Distinction, Level 2 Distinction*, Level 1 and Unclassified.
  • Students study 4 Units.
  • Three of the units will be assessed through a number of assignments in which students will be awarded with a Level 2 Pass, Merit or Distinction. If Level 2 criteria are not met a Level 1 may be awarded. These coursework units will have a range of assignments from written reflections, posters, leaflets, and photographs of pupils carrying out practical work.
  • Unit 1 is an hour long written assessment in exam conditions.

Staff: Miss V. Birch (


Unit 1: Animal Health

This unit covers the basic health needs of the course key animals (chicken, bearded dragon, rabbit, goat, cat/dog). Information will include how to carry out health checks, spotting signs of ill health, monitoring animals regularly for health, how to prevent the spread of disease, symptoms, treatments, and prevention of common diseases for the key animals.

Unit 2: Animal Handling

This unit covers areas of working safely with animals, including health and safety regulations and correct PPE, correct handling and restraint of the course key animals and other animals where possible.

Unit 3: Animal welfare

This unit covers the legal responsibilities of the Animal Welfare Act 2006, roles of animals in society, the roles of  animal-related organisations in ensuring animal welfare needs are met.

Unit 4: Animal Housing and Accommodation

This unit covers how to correctly plan and build animal accommodation, what requirements are needed by different animals, and the correct cleaning and maintenance of animal housing. 

It is advisable for pupils to secure a related work experience placement in year 10 to assist with gaining experience and evidence towards unit 2, 3, and 4.